top of page
  • Lohgan McClung

Kim's Story



“My family had been living in Eagle for a long time and we really loved it there, but the community was just changing. It was becoming really affluent, and people kept moving in around us. So, after some thinking we decided it was time for a change. After a while, Kevin was offered a position as a training officer in Rifle, which he took. His new job sort of led our search for a new home toward the West."


"Kevin started his job in the spring, and that’s when I quit my job. So, as he started his new career, I spent the entire summer looking for a place to live. I actually fasted every single Monday because I knew how important it was to find the right place for our family. So, every Monday morning, I would get up and drive West. I’d drive up and down every single little valley in Garfield County, looking for that perfect place. It really needed to be right."



"One day, my realtor called me up and told me she was sure she found our home. So, she sent me a small picture of the house and the address and I headed down here to take a look at it. It’s funny because I have this really vivid memory of driving to the house for the first time and going past the Bookcliffs and all the dry, barren landscape and thinking about how much I didn’t want to live here in the desert. The closer I got, the worse I felt about it. There was even a point where I actually felt sick to my stomach at the thought of living here. So, I got off at the Parachute exit and I kept driving past all the dryness, and the pinyons and the desert, and I just didn’t feel right about it. But then I turned into the driveway, and something changed inside me. I instantly knew; this is home. I knew the minute I saw this place that this was it. This was our forever place."



"This place is a gift, and we’ve always wanted to treat it that way, and share it with others. We never wanted to hold it tight just for us. So that’s why we always invite people to come and share our apples and take some pears and stay in our guest cabin. Our home is one of our greatest blessings, and we love sharing it with our neighbors and friends. So much good has come from this property, and we really are grateful that it’s ours.”





bottom of page